Sales EnquiresSales Phone Number0845 505 8500

Find The Cheapest Theatre Tickets Here

59th London Evening Standard Theatre Awards

The winners of the 59th London Evening Standard Theatre Awards have been announced, with Helen Mirren, Rosalie Craig and Rory Kinnear and Adrian Lester among those collecting gongs at the Savoy.
Mirren was honoured for her performance as Queen Elizabeth II in Peter Morgan's play The Audience, having won an Oscar for the same role in Morgan's 2006 film The Queen.
Kinnear and Lester were jointly awarded Best Actor for Othello at the National Theatre, beating Chiwetel Ejiofor, who was the only other nominee in their category (for Seasons in the Congo).
Lucy Kirkwood's Chimerica won Best Play, while Most Promising Playwright was awarded to Rachel De-lahay for Routes.
And former National Theatre artistic director Richard Eyre overcame competition from current artistic director Nicholas Hytner and AD-in-waiting Rufus Norris to pick up Best Director for his revival of Ibsen's Ghosts at the Almeida, which has just announced  a West End transfer.
In the musicals categories, Maria Friedman's Menier Chocolate Factory revival of Sondheim's Merrily We Roll Along won Best Musical, beating The Book of Mormon (which was named  Best Night Out on Friday); while Rosalie Craig was awarded the newly created Best Musical Performance award.

Published: 18/11/2013 09:08:18